The Election

So Obama has pretty much won the election. It hasn’t Been decided, but I’m personally glad.

The one thing that irks me is that there are so many people claiming that this means the end of America.  Now, if McCain had won, I wouldn’t be happy, but America would still be America. I would like to see a nice, logical, thought out response to what makes Obama so terrible.  Different opinions are fine- they’re the foundation of the democratic process, I’m just trying to understand this.

That’s all for this post.  I didn’t necessarily want to get into the election on this blog, but with this grand finale it only seems appropriate.  Looking forward to your responses!

~ by candlehand on November 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Election”

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I watched John McCain’s speech last night and he handled things very gracefully. Its sad that his supporters cannot do the same thing. What is wrong with people? Do the really believe Obama is going to ruin our country?

    Oh well, just give it time. They’ll see. President Obama is going to do a fine job. He is going to do whats best for our country and things will change for the better. They just can’t see through their conservative eyelids to actually get that right now.

    At the end of the day, we voted for change and our voices were heard! Go Obama!

  2. I’ll admit this is very biased, but it makes some good (albeit moot) points.
    http://www.eyeblast.tv/public/video.aspx?v=Q4IrVrkU

  3. Nathanael, there is no denying Obama is different and connected to some crazy wackos. This blew my mind a few weeks ago:

    It would be interesting to poll everyone in America to see why they voted for their presidential candidate. Hopefully the spectrum would fall on wider important issues rather than small emotional ones. Do I believe everything Obama has to say? Nope. Did his campaign align to my interests in what I think needs to be done to this country? Yes.

  4. as with any candidate i don’t think he’s as bad as the republicans think he is, but he certainly isn’t going to be as good as the democrats assert. one of the issues that sticks out in my mind is that america has turned to him as some sort of political and economic messiah, and he will fail them. as The Man once said: “‘Trust me’ government asks that we concentrate our hopes and dreams on one man. That we trust him to do what’s best for us. Well, my view of government places trust not in one person or one party, but in those values that trancend persons and parties. trust is where it belongs, in the people. the responsibility to live up to that trust is where it belongs, in their elected leaders” Barak has claimed that this is how he plans to run the country, and if he does then I will applaud him for doing so. Sadly I doubt it will happen. Barak is an advocate of big government, and social re-distribution programs, just like George Bush was. I dont see it geting much better. I really hope I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

 
